We have all been there: You’re texting a number of individuals directly and by chance ship a response to the incorrect individual. Or possibly you discover a typo after you have already hit ship. It is a simple mistake to make and sometimes not a giant deal.

A recipient could make out easy grammatical errors, and in case you ship a message to the incorrect individual, you may often comply with it with a easy “sorry” and all’s good. Till it isn’t.

Generally a textual content message mistake can get you in hassle or result in embarrassment, which is why you need to have the power to recall any message and edit what you have despatched — which you will lastly have the ability to do with iOS 16.

Do not miss5 Hidden iOS 16 Options and Settings You’ll Wish to Know About

Apple introduced these new texting options for the iPhone at its WWDC occasion in June. Different new options coming to the iPhone embody new lock display screen customization choices and Apple Pay Later. And SharePlay is getting added to Messages. 

CNET Tech Tips logo

We’ll clarify how these two new texting options work. And if you would like to discover iOS 16 proper now, earlier than most of the people launch, this is tips on how to obtain and set up the second iOS 16 beta on your iPhone and iPad.

Edit messages you have already despatched

When you use messaging instruments like Slack, you have doubtless edited not less than one — or 100 — of the messages you have despatched. Whether or not you made a typo or your message incorporates incorrect knowledge, the modifying characteristic is a pleasant strategy to make your corrections rapidly. With iOS 16, you will additionally have the ability to edit your messages despatched out of your iPhone inside quarter-hour of sending.

To edit a textual content message, you will must launch Messages and go into any thread that’s utilizing iMessage, which you most likely know as blue textual content. This characteristic is not going to work with SMS textual content messages (inexperienced texts). Now, press and maintain your finger down on the message you want to edit. This may convey up the Tapback reactions and the short motion menu. Lastly, faucet Edit

Editing a text message on iOS 16

Even in case you edit a textual content message, the recipient will nonetheless have the ability to see any outdated messages.


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

The textual content message will then develop into editable. You can delete the whole message, repair any errors or add extra textual content to it. When you’re completed, hit the blue checkmark button on the appropriate facet to save lots of your edits. You can solely edit a single message as much as 5 occasions.

An actionable Edited button will seem beneath your edited textual content message. The individual on the opposite finish may even know that the message has been edited, and in the event that they faucet on Edited, all earlier variations of your textual content message will seem above the edited textual content message, in barely grayed-out chat bubbles. 

Instantly recall any messages you by chance despatched

Unintentional messages occur means too typically. Possibly you tapped the ship button while you meant to pick an emoji. Or maybe you messaged the incorrect individual completely. In both case, you’ll recall these messages with iOS 16. In contrast to with the edit message characteristic, you solely have 2 minutes to unsend a textual content.

To unsend a textual content message, launch the Messages app, press and maintain down on the message (blue textual content solely) you need to unsend, and faucet Undo Ship.

The textual content message will disappear out of your thread, on each your finish and the recipient’s. A message will seem on your thread, stating that your message has been unsent, however that the recipient might have already seen it.

Unsending a text message on iOS 16

You solely have 2 minutes to unsend a textual content message.


Nelson Aguilar/CNET

Sadly, if the opposite individual is operating something older than iOS 16, the message will not truly be unsent although your telephone will say that it’s.

The recipient will see a grey textual content standing message that claims, “[Name] unsent a message” in the event that they’ve already seen the textual content. That is just like the Delete Message characteristic that apps like WhatsApp and Sign have already got, which additionally present an identical message after a textual content is recalled.

Whilst you await these new options to reach, try the brand new makeover coming to Apple Maps. Additionally, this is Apple’s new MacBook Air.

(*16*)


Now taking part in:
Watch this:

Watch Every little thing Introduced at Apple’s WWDC 2022 Occasion



14:37

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.